Archived · Investigation · Reviewed October 9, 2026
NOODLE grant and event accounting
Follow the grant proposal, producer payments and archived cost summary—and the records needed to reconcile them.
Overview
This collection follows the documented funding path from the City to the Port Warwick Foundation and Global Music Touring. It separates an agenda proposal, bank check copies, producer-reported expenses and the City Manager’s account of the event. The central question is how those records reconcile with the final ledgers and supporting invoices.
Source notes
This is a historical document collection for the 2026 event. Grant amounts, producer costs and City costs are different measures. The producer’s summary and the City Manager’s memorandum are attributed accounts; this collection does not establish fraud, a final net public cost or an independently verified economic return.
20 of 20 reviewed records. Source links and release indexes are identified separately from archived copies.
Archived file · December 9, 2025
Council agenda item 25-244 — Port Warwick / NOODLE grant
December 9, 2025 agenda packet for a proposed grant to the Port Warwick Foundation, including resolution and agreement materials.
Archived file · Date not specified
Port Warwick Foundation — Global Music Touring cashier-check receipts and redaction log
Bank receipt copies for two Global Music Touring cashier checks, $2 million dated January 2 and $1 million dated March 19, 2026, plus the agency redaction log.
Archived file · June 23, 2026
NOODLE convention — summary of material expenditures
Three-page convention expenditure summary, including budgeted and actual expense categories and explanatory notes.
Archived file · July 2, 2026
NOODLE convention — City Manager memorandum on impact, expenditures and public release
July 2, 2026 memorandum to City Council summarizing the convention’s economic study, event expenditures, fiscal context, patron response and planned publication.
Archived file · December 9, 2025
Council agenda item 25-245 — NOODLE grant appropriation
Appropriation agenda proposal; compare with the adopted minutes for the actual vote.
Archived file · December 9, 2025
Adopted City Council minutes — December 9, 2025
Adopted minutes, physical pages 24–25: grant and appropriation motions, votes and funding. These establish authorization, rather than payment.
Archived file · March 10, 2026
Adopted City Council work-session minutes — March 10, 2026
March 10, 2026 work-session update. Producer plans and forecasts precede the event and are not measured outcomes.
Archived file · May 12, 2026
Brint M. Martin — Port Warwick Foundation voluntary disclosure
Signed voluntary disclosure about the Foundation relationship. This is the signer’s statement, not an independent conflict-of-interest finding.
Archived file · May 12, 2026
Joanne L. Palmeira — Port Warwick Foundation voluntary disclosure
Signed voluntary disclosure describing prior Foundation board service in 2020–2023. This is the signer’s statement, not an independent finding.
Archived file · Date not specified
Marlin McDaniel — Port Warwick Foundation voluntary disclosure
Reviewed signed disclosure with a blank date line. The published copy should not be described as unsigned; no signing date is inferred.
Archived file · Date not specified
Port Warwick Foundation — 2024 Form 990 public filing
Foundation Form 990 for 2024. Historical organizational context that predates the 2026 event.
Public release index · Date not specified
NOODLE post-event accounting — partial FOIA release
Partial-release index listing the accounting memorandum, expenditure summary and checks. An index does not approve every listed attachment.
Public release index · Date not specified
NOODLE event agreements and public-safety overtime — FOIA response
Public release index for agreement and overtime records. Listed attachments require their own review.
Public release index · Date not specified
NOODLE conflicts-of-interest inquiry — FOIA release
Disclosure and recusal release index. A request or listing does not establish a conflict or misconduct.
Public release index · Date not specified
Port Warwick Foundation / NOODLE agreement — partial FOIA release
Partial-release agreement index. Its listed agreement overlaps another release trail and is not separate corroboration.
Source link · Date not specified
NOODLE-Economic-Impact-and-Event-Expenditures
City-published economic-impact and expenditure material. It overlaps the memorandum and cost-summary evidence rather than supplying independent corroboration.
Archived file · April 15, 2026
Statement of work — economic impact of Newport News festivals and events
Festival-study scope of work. Context for commissioned research, not completed findings or a document explicitly naming NOODLE.
Source link · August 1, 2021
City employee policy 610 — Pay Computation and Overtime
Overtime policy context. Policy terms do not establish event-specific hours or payments.
Source link · Date not specified
Virginia Code § 15.2-2506
Virginia Code § 15.2-2506. Official publisher text.
Source link · Date not specified
Newport News Charter §§ 2.02(C),(G),(I), 4.02(C), 6.12–6.13, 8.04
Newport News Charter §§ 2.02(C),(G),(I), 4.02(C), 6.12–6.13, 8.04. Official publisher text.
Timeline
Dates follow the cited records; document dates are labeled separately.
December 9, 2025
Council agenda proposes a festival grant
The agenda item requests approval of a grant to the Port Warwick Foundation of up to $3,030,000 for a Memorial Day Weekend 2026 event. This page establishes the proposed action; it is not the adopted vote or evidence of a payment.
December 9, 2025
Council adopts the grant and appropriation
The adopted minutes record approval of the festival grant and the companion appropriation. These votes establish authorization; the executed agreement and final ledgers are still needed to establish terms and payments.
January 2 and March 19, 2026
Two cashier-check copies identify the producer
The retained bank copies identify the Port Warwick Foundation as remitter and Global Music Touring as payee: $2,000,000 on January 2 and $1,000,000 on March 19. They document check issuance, without independently establishing recipient clearance or every expense paid from the proceeds.
June 23, 2026
Producer reports budget versus actual costs
The producer’s material-expenditure summary reports a $3,050,000 budget and $3,191,726 in actual costs. It includes $227,822 under additional costs attributed to City mandates or use of City services. These are the producer’s reported figures and explanations, rather than an independently audited City expenditure ledger.
July 2, 2026
City Manager describes the funding and overage
The memorandum says the City provided $3,030,000 to the Foundation, which transmitted $3,000,000 to the producer. It states that costs above the fixed $3,000,000 producer grant were borne by the production company. That explanation should be checked against the Foundation’s accounting, the City’s records and final payment evidence.
References
Budget and grant authority
Virginia Code § 15.2-2506 separates budget approval from appropriation. Newport News’s charter permits financial aid to qualifying charitable or benevolent institutions whose functions further City public purposes. The adopted grant and appropriation establish authorization; the executed agreement and payment records are still needed to establish the event’s terms and settlement.
Current state code and compiled City charter reviewed October 12, 2026.
Authorities and context
- Virginia · Virginia statute
Virginia Code § 15.2-2506 · Final two paragraphs: budget approval and appropriation - Newport News · State-enacted local charter
Newport News Charter §§ 2.02(C),(G),(I), 4.02(C), 6.12–6.13, 8.04 · § 2.02(C) and (G)
Factual sources
News story
Who approved the $3.03 million—and why the accounting still matters
Open questions
Records still needed (3)
Executed grant terms and amendments
A separately reviewed executed grant agreement, any amendments, final reporting requirements and closeout acceptance. The adopted grant and appropriation votes are now linked in this collection.
Likely custodian: City Clerk, City Attorney and Port Warwick Foundation
Adopted minutes establish authorization. A release index naming an agreement does not establish the complete executed terms or final compliance.
Submit this recordReconcile the funding path
Dated City and Foundation ledger entries, redacted cleared-payment evidence, final reconciliation and the disposition of the difference between Foundation funding and producer payments.
Likely custodian: City Finance and Port Warwick Foundation
Check copies and the memorandum need a matching accounting trail; the difference alone does not establish misuse.
Submit this recordSupport the reported event costs
Itemized vendor invoices, final producer accounting, City service charges, staff overtime or in-kind support records, and any refunds or returned grant funds.
Likely custodian: City Finance, event departments, Port Warwick Foundation and producer
A cost summary does not establish which invoices were paid or the complete cost to each participant.
Submit this record