Active · Investigation · Reviewed October 18, 2026
Public Utility mitigation-credit inventory and accounting
Newport News reported $6,934,385 in Public Utility wetlands-credit assets at June 30, 2025. Recent payment records identify Little Creek Dam mitigation purchases, while older records document a separate King William Reservoir purchase and a resale proposal. The current credit inventory and accounting links remain to be established.
Overview
Trace Public Utility credits from purchase and recorded payment to asset value, regulatory use, resale or retirement and continuing obligations. A carrying balance is not cash, market value or a count of available credits. Engineering and nutrient transactions must not automatically be assigned to this asset line.
Source notes
The exact arithmetic is a reconciliation lead, not proof of accounting treatment or a cash loss. Payment dates and capitalization dates can differ. The issued Little Creek permit and project-labeled payments provide affirmative evidence; their presence must not be displaced by an assumption of noncompliance from missing attachments. Older York River credits and newer Little Creek purchases serve different documented watershed contexts. No waste, duplicate payment, seller default or failed mitigation is established.
Timeline
Dates follow the cited records; document dates are labeled separately.
February–March 2009
Original York River credits and payment schedule
The York River agreement and bill of sale covered 50 wetland credits and three stream categories totaling 19,978 linear feet for the King William Reservoir. The $7,320,135 fixed-dollar schedule includes closing amounts and eighteen $36,526 installments; the installments are not additional full-price purchases.
June 2014
Resale proposal provides affirmative recovery evidence
A City Manager memo said the reservoir was not constructed and proposed resale of credits no longer needed, with proceeds to the Public Utilities Fund. This is affirmative evidence of a recovery proposal. The reviewed packet contains proposed authority, not independent verification of final adoption or subsequent sales.
June 30, 2021
Reported wetlands-credit carrying balance
Public Utility reported $5,530,135 in wetlands credits. The repeated balance does not establish its original credit-by-credit composition.
January–March 2025
Little Creek permit and project-labeled payment entries
A modified Little Creek permit required 1.54 nontidal wetland credits, 0.44 tidal wetland credits and 16 USM stream credits. Three City payment-register entries labeled for Little Creek total $1,229,000. Purchase, transfer and agency-receipt records are still needed to complete that chain.
June 30, 2025
Asset-note increase and an unverified timing link
The audited Public Utility asset note shows $5,530,135 opening balance plus $1,404,250 in additions and no decreases, producing $6,934,385. The Little Creek entries plus a separate $175,250 July 2023 payment equal the addition arithmetically, but that prior-year entry's project and capitalization timing are not verified.
- FY 2025 City annual comprehensive financial report · FY2025 Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, Note 5, printed p. 52 / PDF p. 75.
- City 2024–2026 vendor payments: scoped SoundThinking and mitigation references · 2024_-_2026_Vendor_Payments.xlsx, Vendor Payments rows 86794, 90055, 91548 (Little Creek) and 4002, 77426, 165756 (York River); header included.
- City FY2024 vendor payments: scoped SoundThinking and mitigation references · FY24_Vendor_Payments_-_FOIA_Response.xlsx, Vendor Invoice List row 2689, July 7, 2023; header included.
February 17, 2026
Installment entry does not establish final performance
A York River payment entry is labeled installment 17 of 18 at $36,526. The agreement also contains monitoring and maintenance obligations. This entry does not establish that all installments or final performance have been reviewed.
- City 2024–2026 vendor payments: scoped SoundThinking and mitigation references · 2024_-_2026_Vendor_Payments.xlsx, Vendor Payments rows 86794, 90055, 91548 (Little Creek) and 4002, 77426, 165756 (York River); header included.
- York River mitigation credits: 2009 agreement and bill-of-sale records · York River agreement February 6, 2009, PDF pp. 1–6, 10; bill-of-sale file PDF pp. 1–3, including November 5, 2010 financial summary.
7 of 7 reviewed records. Source links, source collections and release indexes are identified separately from archived copies.
Source link · Date not specified
York River mitigation credits: 2009 agreement and bill-of-sale records
Release G018310-082026, York River purchase agreement dated February 6, 2009, PDF pp. 1–6 and 10; March 25, 2009 bill of sale and November 5, 2010 financial summary, PDF pp. 1–3
Source link · June 10, 2014
Mitigation-credit resale: June 10, 2014 Council packet
June 10, 2014 Council packet, PDF pp. 48–51; June 4 Manager memo pp. 49–50 and proposed resolution p. 51
Source link · Date not specified
FY2021 City annual comprehensive financial report
FY2021 Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, PDF p. 40
Source link · January 21, 2025
Little Creek Dam: issued DEQ VWP 23-1541 modification
Issued DEQ permit VWP 23-1541, modification dated January 21, 2025, PDF pp. 5–6 and 12
Source link · Date not specified
City 2024–2026 vendor payments: scoped SoundThinking and mitigation references
City 2024–2026 vendor payment release, Vendor Payments rows 86794, 90055 and 91548 for Little Creek; rows 4002, 77426 and 165756 for York River installments
Source link · Date not specified
FY 2025 City annual comprehensive financial report
FY2025 Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, Note 5, printed p. 52 / PDF p. 75
Source link · Date not specified
City FY2024 vendor payments: scoped SoundThinking and mitigation references
FY2024 vendor payment release, Vendor Invoice List row 2689 for July 7, 2023 Nature Conservancy payment. Row numbers include the header.
News story
No resulting news story is currently linked and published.
Open questions
Records still needed (5)
Credit inventory and regulatory ledgers
What credits remain available, reserved, used, transferred, resold or retired, by type, service area and regulator ledger?
Likely custodian: City Public Utilities, Finance and the relevant permitting agencies
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this recordAsset reconciliation and capitalization timing
Which journals and fixed-asset records explain the opening balance and FY2025 increase, including the $175,250 prior-year candidate?
Likely custodian: City Public Utilities, Finance and the relevant permitting agencies
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this recordResale authority and proceeds
What final authority, sales, transfers and receipts followed the 2014 resale proposal?
Likely custodian: City Public Utilities, Finance and the relevant permitting agencies
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this recordLittle Creek transfer evidence
Do Little Creek transfer and agency-receipt records match the issued permit and the recorded payments?
Likely custodian: City Public Utilities, Finance and the relevant permitting agencies
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this recordRemaining York River obligations
What records establish the remaining York River payment and monitoring obligations?
Likely custodian: City Public Utilities, Finance and the relevant permitting agencies
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this record