Active · Investigation · Reviewed October 11, 2026
NNPS seclusion: reported counts and underlying records
Reconcile state-reported counts, program attribution, school policy and the records estimate.
Overview
Compare division submissions and corrections with school and program attribution. Review the estimate for underlying records and the procedures used to classify and report incidents.
Source notes
Division totals alone do not establish that an incident occurred at a particular NNPS-operated school.
4 of 4 reviewed records. Source links and release indexes are identified separately from archived copies.
Archived file · August 26, 2026
Robert White — NNPS seclusion-report source records request and cost estimate
NNPS acknowledgment and $16,659.28 search estimate for requested restraint/seclusion policies, reporting submissions, attribution records and related correspondence.
Data source · Date not specified
VDOE School Climate Reports — Newport News data source
Official collection for aggregate chronic absenteeism, seclusion/restraint, student behavior and administrative response, historical discipline/crime/violence and truancy reporting. Use the Newport News division or school selection where available.
Source link · Date not specified
NNPS School Board meetings and policies — official access index
Official School Board access point for meetings, calendars and linked policy material.
Source link · Date not specified
8 VAC 20-750-5, -10, -20, -30, -40, -50, -60, -70, -80, -90, -100
8 VAC 20-750-5, -10, -20, -30, -40, -50, -60, -70, -80, -90, -100. Official publisher text.
Timeline
Document dates, oldest first. These are not verified event dates; undated records appear last.
Supporting-record chronology
August 26, 2026 · Document date
Robert White — NNPS seclusion-report source records request and cost estimate
Document date not established
NNPS School Board meetings and policies — official access index
Document date not established
VDOE School Climate Reports — Newport News data source
References
Incident reports and annual frequency reporting
Virginia’s public-school restraint and seclusion regulation links the principal’s report to individual incident reports, then requires the superintendent to report incident frequency annually and make that information public. This is the reporting chain relevant to the August 2026 request for submissions and attribution records. The estimate correspondence itself establishes neither a school’s incident count nor a correction to reported data.
Current 8 VAC 20-750-90 checked October 12, 2026; its official history states January 1, 2021 effectiveness. No reporting-year edition or underlying incident classification was matched. This entry concerns the reporting rule, not the permissibility of any incident.
Authorities and context
- Virginia · Virginia regulation
8 VAC 20-750-5, -10, -20, -30, -40, -50, -60, -70, -80, -90, -100 · 8 VAC 20-750-90, first paragraph; incident-report basis, annual frequency reporting and public availability
Factual sources
News story
No resulting news story is currently linked and published.
Open questions
Records still needed (3)
Annual submissions and program attribution
Final and corrected annual files, definitions and school or placement attribution.
Likely custodian: NNPS; VDOE; relevant program provider
Identify which programs the division totals include.
Submit this recordIncident and training controls
De-identified incident summaries, reporting procedures and training records.
Likely custodian: NNPS; VDOE; relevant program provider
Compare actual reporting controls with the applicable policy.
Submit this recordEstimate and production scope
Search plan, estimated hours and narrower existing-report options.
Likely custodian: NNPS; VDOE; relevant program provider
Identify the records available and the basis for the cost.
Submit this record