Active · Investigation · Reviewed October 17, 2026
Grissom Library replacement funding and delivery
Trace staged library funding, contract and payment figures, delivery milestones and the records needed to reconcile the all-in project estimate.
Overview
Review the replacement Grissom Library project, including the funding bridge, final approved scope, construction commitments, permits and public-service delivery. Appropriations, estimates, contracts and paid-to-date figures are separate measures, not interchangeable evidence of an overrun.
Source notes
This investigation does not establish an overrun, missing money, a funding deficit, illegal construction or contractor fault. The October 13 appropriation outcome is unverified. The City dashboard is a provisional display with an accuracy disclaimer, not an audited ledger. The $5.8 million capital-plan increment is not the full project price. The final gross area, executed contract changes and public opening date remain unverified. No private resident or minor information is included.
Timeline
Dates follow the cited records; document dates are labeled separately.
April 23, 2024
Council approves an initial design and construction appropriation
Adopted minutes record approval of $33,178,000 from FY2022 and FY2024 bond authorizations for design and construction, with six affirmative votes. The staff request expressly says further construction funding would be phased through an upcoming capital plan and appropriated later. The initial appropriation was therefore not presented in that request as complete final funding; it is not proof of bond issuance or spending.
- Grissom Library: April 23, 2024 adopted Council minutes · PDF page 16 · Record details
- Grissom Library: April 23, 2024 adopted Council minutes · PDF page 17 · Record details
- Grissom Library: April 23, 2024 appropriation request and draft resolution · PDF page 1 · Record details
- Grissom Library: April 23, 2024 appropriation request and draft resolution · PDF page 2 · Record details
FY2027–2031 adopted capital plan
Plan identifies an additional site-improvement increment
The adopted capital plan lists $5,800,000 for Grissom and describes additional stormwater and roadway site improvements. Adding that increment to $33,178,000 gives $38,978,000, matching the prior-appropriation total later stated in the October staff report. This is a cross-document reconciliation, not a certified project ledger. The executed capital ordinance and account history remain necessary to verify the full appropriation trail.
September 28, 2026 comment · October 17 capture
Dashboard distinguishes an all-in estimate and construction milestone
The dated City comment gives an approximate $53 million all-in estimate and an October 5, 2027 construction-finish target, labeled “SC” in the comment. The captured contract table lists M.B. Kahn Construction at $38,648,372 and $986,679.75 paid to date. Other design and service entries are separate. Construction closeout runs through November 19 and project closeout through December 27, 2027. None of those dates establishes the public opening. The comment’s pending building-permit and revised site-plan wording does not establish unauthorized construction.
October 13, 2026 · request, outcome unverified
Staff requests another $8.822 million
The Engineering request seeks $8,822,000 from FY2025 bond authorization and says adoption would raise $38,978,000 of prior appropriations to $47,800,000. The draft resolution’s number is blank. The vote and adopted instrument were not verified as of October 17, so $47.8 million remains the proposed total here. The report describes a two-story, 51,450-square-foot design and retrospectively reports a July 16 groundbreaking; listed amenities remain under consideration. The approximately $53 million dashboard estimate requires reconciliation with the proposed funding total, not an assumed $5.2 million loss or deficit.
- Grissom Library: October 13, 2026 appropriation request and draft resolution · PDF page 1 · Record details
- Grissom Library: October 13, 2026 appropriation request and draft resolution · PDF page 2 · Record details
- Grissom Library: October 13, 2026 appropriation request and draft resolution · PDF page 3 · Record details
- Grissom Library replacement: City project-status record 616 · September 28 all-in estimate
5 of 5 reviewed records. Source links, source collections and release indexes are identified separately from archived copies.
Source link · April 23, 2024
Grissom Library: April 23, 2024 appropriation request and draft resolution
Staff request and unsigned draft; use the adopted minutes separately for the April 2024 action.
Source link · April 23, 2024
Grissom Library: April 23, 2024 adopted Council minutes
Only the Grissom appropriation item on pages 16–17 supports this case.
Source link · Date not specified
FY 2027 - FY 2031 Adopted CIP - Final
Existing source record reused unchanged; pages 63 and 76 describe the additional $5.8 million site-improvement increment.
Source link · Date not specified
Grissom Library replacement: City project-status record 616
September 28 comment and October 17 capture, not a certified cost or payment ledger.
Source link · October 13, 2026
Grissom Library: October 13, 2026 appropriation request and draft resolution
Request and draft only. Standalone item pages 1–3 are distinct from full agenda-packet pages 215–217.
News story
No resulting news story is currently linked and published.
Open questions
Records still needed (5)
Adopted funding authority
October 13 item-specific vote and signed/numbered resolution, executed FY2027 capital ordinance and project G3015 appropriation/transfer ledger.
Likely custodian: City Clerk, Budget and Finance
Verify actual adoption and reconcile staged funding without counting the $5.8 million increment twice.
Submit this recordAll-in cost and scope reconciliation
Latest estimate at completion and account crosswalk for building, site infrastructure, professional services, furnishings, contingency and other project costs.
Likely custodian: Engineering, Budget and Finance
Explain the difference between the approximate $53 million estimate and the proposed $47.8 million appropriation total; neither is actual final spending.
Submit this recordExecuted contract and changes
Solicitation, bid tabulation, award, executed M.B. Kahn contract, schedule of values, notice to proceed, change-order register and approved schedules.
Likely custodian: City Purchasing and Engineering
Establish the contractual baseline and authorized adjustments rather than infer them from the dashboard.
Submit this recordPayment and permitting trail
Approved pay applications, retainage/payment ledger, dated building and site-plan approvals, inspection records and scope of any early authorized work.
Likely custodian: Engineering, Finance and Codes Compliance
Validate payment and permit stages without treating a dated status comment as proof of a violation.
Submit this recordFinal facility and service outcomes
Approved gross-area/program schedule, occupancy and opening plan, accessibility, staffing/hours and operating-cost projection.
Likely custodian: Library administration and Engineering
Resolve differing area descriptions and distinguish planned amenities and construction completion from delivered public service.
Submit this record