Active · Investigation · Reviewed October 18, 2026
Employee-health procurement: corrected memo and comparison model
The City corrected its written rationale for choosing Sentara over Anthem in the 2025 employee-health procurement. The released financial presentation still includes a separate Anthem network-access charge that the revised City memo describes as included in the base administrative fee. The question is how that comparison was reconciled.
Overview
Examine RFP 25-3316-6208's documentary comparison and corrections. This is separate from the City's self-insurance accounting-adjustment case. It does not establish savings, overpayment, an unlawful award or that a different vendor should have won.
Source notes
The City already recognized Anthem's price advantage and favored Sentara's longer-term stop-loss protections and other considerations. The correction itself shows staff addressed bidder concerns. The offers differ in rebates, guarantees, risk and service terms; the one-line sensitivity does not value all of them. Anthem's questionnaire also contains adjacent generic network-fee language, and its BAFO preserves certain runout and ancillary charges. Included normal-year network access must not be portrayed as eliminating every fee. The original model and any corrected successor, the executed contract and the protest disposition remain unverified. Initial pass/fail scores were not final weighted cost-benefit rankings.
Timeline
Dates follow the cited records; document dates are labeled separately.
June 2–August 18, 2025
Finalist review, offers and selection
Finalist interviews, written exchanges and best-and-final offers preceded the committee's Sentara selection on August 18. The City later identified the consultant's August 18 presentation as committee material.
August 21, 2025
Original memo describes a separate network fee
The original recommendation memo described Anthem's network-access fee as separate and variable.
August 27–29, 2025
City acknowledges errors and Anthem price advantage
Anthem challenged the explanation. Procurement acknowledged memo errors and expressly recognized Anthem's short-term price advantage, while maintaining that the unanimous award reflected all criteria and longer-term value.
September 2, 2025
Corrected memo retains the award rationale
An addendum and revised memo corrected network-fee treatment, rebate descriptions and comparisons, and gene-therapy price denominators. The City said the corrections did not change rankings or the award basis.
September 8–9, 2025
Re-evaluation and protest disposition remain unresolved
Correspondence references an Anthem protest letter, without establishing its disposition. Procurement said the committee had not reconvened because the memo followed the decision; the chair could work with members and the consultant as needed. No committee re-evaluation document was supplied. That is not proof that nobody reviewed the correction informally.
September 8, 2026
Register distinguishes current and estimated overall terms
The City register lists Sentara contract 25-3316-00 with an estimated January 1, 2026 start, current-term end December 31, 2028 and estimated overall end December 31, 2035. Those distinct fields are not a guaranteed ten-year spending commitment.
October 18, 2026 review
The comparison to reconcile
Anthem's questionnaire and the revised City memo say network access is included in base administration. The consultant's August 18 presentation separately applies 3.7% to $35,716,883 in projected medical claims, approximately $1,321,525. Reconstruction from displayed aggregate inputs reproduces the presentation's main totals within $1. Removing only that line increases the modeled first-year Sentara–Anthem difference from approximately $1.585 million to $2.907 million. This is an all-else-equal sensitivity, not actual savings or a full revised bid evaluation.
2 of 2 reviewed records. Source links, source collections and release indexes are identified separately from archived copies.
Source link · Date not specified
Employee-health procurement: released 2025 comparison and correction records
City partial release G012068-101325, closed October 16, 2025. Source description identifies the named attachments and page/workbook locators. The August 18 presentation is not a verified native model; its all-else-equal sensitivity is not savings or a full revised evaluation. The email-chain locators refer to the embedded 13-page correspondence, not the portfolio cover. No member-specific claims or raw release files are reproduced.
Source link · Date not specified
Web Contract List 09.08.26
September 8, 2026 City contract register, physical PDF p. 12; Sentara contract 25-3316-00, distinct estimated-start/current-term/overall-end fields. The existing whole-register catalog record is reused without changing its metadata. The reviewed /672 publisher endpoint served the September 8 edition; no exact byte identity with the DocumentCenter endpoint is asserted. This updating publisher link may later serve another edition. Listing dates do not prove executed renewal, payment or current operation.
News story
No resulting news story is currently linked and published.
Open questions
Records still needed (4)
Native comparison-model reconciliation
What dated native model or reconciliation accounts for the revised network-fee treatment?
Likely custodian: City Purchasing and Human Resources
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this recordPrice and longer-term criteria
How was the corrected price difference weighed against long-term protections and other criteria?
Likely custodian: City Purchasing and Human Resources
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this recordProtest disposition
What was the protest's actual disposition?
Likely custodian: City Purchasing and Human Resources
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this recordExecuted pricing and guarantees
Which executed pricing and guarantee schedules govern the current contract?
Likely custodian: City Purchasing and Human Resources
Resolve this documentary question without treating an unavailable record as proof of wrongdoing.
Submit this record