Active · Investigation · Reviewed October 11, 2026
City housing payments: grants, projects and delivery
Connect City payments to NNRHA projects, funding restrictions and completed work.
Overview
Map City payments, HUD drawdowns and housing grants to their specific projects. Compare award conditions, contractor payments and accepted deliverables.
Source notes
A payment total and a project authorization cover different stages of the funding trail. Program performance reports are not independent audits or complete City-to-NNRHA payment registers. Available resources, grant drawdowns, matching contributions and contractor payments are distinct measures. Report-generation dates are not transaction dates, and differently defined rehabilitation measures require reconciliation. Unexpended funds alone do not establish misuse. Household identifiers and private linkage details are excluded.
9 of 9 reviewed records. Source links and release indexes are identified separately from archived copies.
Archived file · September 15, 2026
NNRHA Board of Commissioners regular meeting package — September 15, 2026
Agenda, prior minutes, agency and capital plans, policy proposals, financial and inspection materials.
Archived file · August 18, 2026
NNRHA Board of Commissioners regular meeting package — August 18, 2026
Meeting agenda and supporting material on housing grants, financing, operations and authority reports.
Source link · September 29, 2025
NNRHA financial statements and independent auditor report — period ended December 31, 2024
Housing authority financial statements, federal award schedules, audit findings and corrective-action material.
Source link · Date not specified
FY 2027 City adopted operating budget
The City of Newport News adopted budget book for fiscal year 2027.
Source link · Date not specified
FY 2027 City adopted budget — line item detail
Department and fund line items accompanying Newport News's fiscal year 2027 adopted operating budget.
Source link · August 11, 2026
FY2026–2027 housing Annual Action Plan approval — Resolution 14005-26
Resolution approving the housing and community-development Annual Action Plan, including proposed CDBG and HOME uses and federal submission.
Archived file · Date not specified
Newport News Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report — 2024–2025
Housing and community-development grant outcomes, spending, progress and program activity for 2024–2025.
Source link · Date not specified
24 CFR §§ 570.503(a), (b)(1)–(2); 570.506(a), (h)
24 CFR §§ 570.503(a), (b)(1)–(2); 570.506(a), (h). Official publisher text.
Source link · Date not specified
24 CFR §§ 92.218, 92.220, 92.504(b)–(c), 92.508(a)(2)(ix)
24 CFR §§ 92.218, 92.220, 92.504(b)–(c), 92.508(a)(2)(ix). Official publisher text.
Timeline
Dates follow the cited records; document dates are labeled separately.
July 1, 2024–June 30, 2025
Rehabilitation spending reported; output measures differ
The CAPER narrative reports approximately $523,201.14 in CDBG rehabilitation spending and 25 homes improved. Table 1 reports 19 in its homeowner-rehabilitation row; Table 12 reports 14 households supported through Residential Repair and HOMECARE, and its explanation reports 14 completed residential rehabilitation projects. The covered programs and counting rules need reconciliation before selecting a completed-work total.
- Newport News Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report — 2024–2025 · PDF page 2 · Record details
- Newport News Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report — 2024–2025 · PDF page 3 · Record details
- Newport News Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report — 2024–2025 · PDF page 6 · Record details
- Newport News Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report — 2024–2025 · PDF page 17 · Record details
- Newport News Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report — 2024–2025 · PDF page 18 · Record details
2024–2025 CAPER
City HOME matching contribution reported
The HOME-match narrative reports receiving $100,000 from the City. The underlying payment, receipt and eventual project use remain to be reconciled.
October 9, 2025 report
CDBG resource and expenditure totals reconcile
The appended HUD IDIS PR26 lists $3,400,000.55 available for Program Year 2024, $1,672,308.15 expended and $1,727,692.40 unexpended. Spending includes $318,949.73 for planning and administration. These are historical program-report totals; October 9 is the report date, not the date of individual payments.
October 9, 2025 report
Administration drawdowns separated by institution
PR26 line 37 detail totals $212,905.00 across nine NNRHA-administration entries and $18,590.95 across two City-administration entries. These calculated sums are included within the $318,949.73 planning-and-administration total. They describe grant drawdowns by activity; underlying payment and cost-allocation records are needed to reconcile the expenditures.
References
CDBG payment-to-activity records
CDBG rules require a written agreement before a recipient disburses program funds to a subrecipient, with work, schedule, budget and reporting provisions. The CAPER’s NNRHA administration drawdowns therefore need an agreement-and-activity crosswalk before they can be equated with City payments, contractor costs or completed housing work.
24 CFR § 570.503(a)–(b), April 1, 2024 edition. Apply only to identified CDBG flows and actual recipient/subrecipient roles; the October 9, 2025 PR26 generation date is not a transaction date.
Authorities and context
- Federal · Federal regulation
24 CFR §§ 570.503(a), (b)(1)–(2); 570.506(a), (h) · PDF page 109 · 24 CFR § 570.503(a), (b)(1)–(2); 2024 Part 570 · Record details
Factual sources
- Newport News Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report — 2024–2025 · PDF page 39 · Appended IDIS PR26 line 37 activity detail: NNRHA and City administration drawdowns · Record details
- Newport News Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report — 2024–2025 · PDF page 36 · PR26 resource/expenditure totals; report generated October 9, 2025 · Record details
HOME match documentation
HOME recordkeeping rules call for a running log and project records documenting the type and amount of matching contributions. The CAPER reports a $100,000 City contribution. Payment, receipt, eligibility and project-use records are still needed to establish how that reported contribution satisfies the applicable match requirements.
24 CFR § 92.508(a)(2)(ix), April 1, 2024 edition. Confirm the contribution/commitment dates and applicable HOME transition before judging compliance; the reported amount alone does not establish an eligible match.
Authorities and context
- Federal · Federal regulation
24 CFR §§ 92.218, 92.220, 92.504(b)–(c), 92.508(a)(2)(ix) · PDF page 79 · 24 CFR § 92.508(a)(2)(ix); 2024 Part 92 · Record details
Factual sources
News story
No resulting news story is currently linked and published.
Open questions
Records still needed (2)
Payment-to-project crosswalk
AP vouchers, grant agreements, drawdown records, matching-contribution support, administrative cost allocations and project coding, with household identifiers removed.
Likely custodian: City Finance; Development; NNRHA
Identify what each payment funded and reconcile institutional transfers, grant drawdowns and contractor payments without counting the same funding twice.
Submit this recordDelivery and closeout
Invoices, acceptance records, performance reports, definitions and de-identified reconciliation of reported rehabilitation measures, plus unused-fund and carryforward records.
Likely custodian: City Finance; Development; NNRHA
Test whether the funded work was delivered, explain differences in reported output measures and distinguish completed spending from funds still available or committed.
Submit this record