Archived · Investigation · Reviewed October 10, 2026
Good News PAC: reporting discrepancy and money flow
Follow the reported $12,700 in unmatched June payments, PAC and campaign donors, returned transfers, vendor spending and the James River Strand completion contract.
Overview
Good News PAC (PAC-22-00083), Friends of Phillip Jones (CC-22-00013) and the two Shannon Jones campaign reports relevant to the June 2025 payments. Ordinary reports are reviewed through August 31, 2026, with later notices through October 8. This collection separates what committees reported from payment clearance, services delivered and city procurement decisions. The $275,000 transfer was returned and its loan repaid; it is separate from the unresolved $12,700 receipt question.
Source notes
The sources establish committee disclosures and a dated city-project listing. They do not establish theft, concealment, wrongdoing by Shannon Jones, favoritism, or an exchange of a donation for official action. Bank clearance, loan terms, vendor delivery, entity ownership and contractor selection remain unverified. Phil Jones and PDJ are retained as filed without an independently confirmed expansion. The latest supplied filing-history observations are dated October 10, 2026; later amendments could change the account. Questions are prepared, with no verified send receipt or substantive response in the reviewed material.
71 of 71 reviewed records. Source links and release indexes are identified separately from archived copies.
Archived file · June 9, 2025
Shannon Jones for Commonwealth's Attorney — campaign-finance report 441977
SJ-441977 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-04-01 through 2025-06-05.
Archived file · July 1, 2025
Shannon Jones for Commonwealth's Attorney — campaign-finance report 444031
SJ-444031 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-06-06 through 2025-06-30.
Archived file · September 3, 2025
Good News — campaign-finance report 451182
GN-451182 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-05-26 through 2025-08-31.
Archived file · October 10, 2026
Good News PAC — 728-row transaction ledger and reconciliation workbook
Research workbook, 728 transaction rows. Compare its totals with the preserved originals; it is not a bank statement.
Archived file · October 10, 2026
Good News PAC — public source packet and file manifest
Preserved original financial sources and labeled research tables; organization forms are linked separately.
Archived file · October 10, 2026
Good News PAC — Audit Newport News research case brief
Independent research document. A publisher’s expansion of PDJ in this brief is unconfirmed; the story and timeline retain only the printed initials.
Source link · June 2, 2025
Good News PAC — statement of organization effective June 2, 2025
Names Phil Jones as treasurer and Joshua Jones as principal custodian of books and director. Committee roles are the names as filed, not independently expanded identities.
Source link · June 27, 2025
Shannon Jones campaign — statement of organization effective June 27, 2025
Names Simone Dreher as campaign treasurer. Committee roles are the names as filed, not independently expanded identities.
Source link · Date not specified
James River Strand — city project status and completion contract
Live page can change. The October 10 field extract and October 5 full-page capture are different evidence formats; their $649,941.72 display difference is not a payment chronology.
Source link · January 18, 2023
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 311445
GN-311445 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-11-29 through 2022-12-31.
Source link · April 13, 2023
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 317634
GN-317634 · Ordinary · Activity: 2023-01-01 through 2023-03-31.
Source link · July 1, 2023
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 332816
GN-332816 · Ordinary · Activity: 2023-04-01 through 2023-06-30.
Source link · September 9, 2023
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 347464
GN-347464 · Ordinary · Activity: 2023-07-01 through 2023-08-31.
Source link · October 8, 2023
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 355261
GN-355261 · Ordinary · Activity: 2023-09-01 through 2023-10-07.
Source link · January 1, 2024
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 387333
GN-387333 · Ordinary · Activity: 2023-10-08 through 2023-12-31.
Source link · April 12, 2024
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 397914
GN-397914 · Ordinary · Activity: 2024-01-01 through 2024-03-31.
Archived file · May 27, 2024
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 401093
GN-401093 · Ordinary · Activity: 2024-04-01 through 2024-05-25.
Archived file · September 9, 2024
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 412942
GN-412942 · Ordinary · Activity: 2024-05-26 through 2024-08-31.
Archived file · October 11, 2024
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 416706
GN-416706 · Ordinary · Activity: 2024-09-01 through 2024-10-07.
Archived file · December 11, 2024
Good News PAC — contribution/expenditure notice 425020
GN-425020 · Special notice · Activity: 2024-12-11 through 2024-12-11. Excluded from totals pending reconciliation.
Archived file · January 1, 2025
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 425734
GN-425734 · Ordinary · Activity: 2024-10-08 through 2024-12-31.
Archived file · January 3, 2025
Good News PAC — contribution/expenditure notice 426325
GN-426325 · Special notice · Activity: 2025-01-03 through 2025-01-03. Excluded from totals pending reconciliation.
Source link · April 1, 2025
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 434024
GN-434024 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-01-01 through 2025-03-31.
Source link · May 26, 2025
Good News PAC — campaign-finance report 438432
GN-438432 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-04-01 through 2025-05-25.
Archived file · October 8, 2025
Good News — campaign-finance report 457948
GN-457948 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-09-01 through 2025-10-07.
Source link · January 1, 2026
Good News — campaign-finance report 474253
GN-474253 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-10-08 through 2025-12-31.
Archived file · April 1, 2026
Good News — campaign-finance report 483720
GN-483720 · Ordinary · Activity: 2026-01-01 through 2026-03-31.
Archived file · May 26, 2026
Good News — campaign-finance report 488228
GN-488228 · Ordinary · Activity: 2026-04-01 through 2026-05-25.
Archived file · September 1, 2026
Good News — campaign-finance report 504271
GN-504271 · Ordinary · Activity: 2026-05-26 through 2026-08-31.
Archived file · September 24, 2026
Good News — contribution/expenditure notice 507069
GN-507069 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-24 through 2026-09-24.
Source link · April 4, 2022
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 281216
MJ-281216 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-01-07 through 2022-03-31.
Source link · June 10, 2022
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 285094
MJ-285094 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-04-01 through 2022-06-09.
Source link · July 5, 2022
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 288264
MJ-288264 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-06-10 through 2022-06-30.
Source link · September 1, 2022
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 295030
MJ-295030 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-07-01 through 2022-08-31.
Source link · October 13, 2022
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 298130
MJ-298130 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-09-01 through 2022-09-30.
Source link · October 29, 2022
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 300223
MJ-300223 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-10-01 through 2022-10-27.
Source link · December 2, 2022
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 302254
MJ-302254 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-10-28 through 2022-12-01.
Source link · January 11, 2023
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 307102
MJ-307102 · Ordinary · Activity: 2022-12-02 through 2022-12-31.
Source link · July 1, 2023
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 332814
MJ-332814 · Ordinary · Activity: 2023-01-01 through 2023-06-30.
Source link · August 24, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 503839
MJ-503839 · Ordinary · Activity: 2023-07-01 through 2023-12-31.
Source link · August 25, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 503880
MJ-503880 · Ordinary · Activity: 2024-01-01 through 2024-06-30.
Source link · August 25, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 503882
MJ-503882 · Ordinary · Activity: 2024-07-01 through 2024-12-31.
Source link · August 25, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 503885
MJ-503885 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-01-01 through 2025-06-30.
Source link · August 25, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 503886
MJ-503886 · Ordinary · Activity: 2025-07-01 through 2025-12-31.
Source link · August 25, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 503888
MJ-503888 · Ordinary · Activity: 2026-01-01 through 2026-03-31.
Source link · August 25, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 503889
MJ-503889 · Ordinary · Activity: 2026-04-01 through 2026-06-30.
Source link · August 25, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 503891
MJ-503891 · Ordinary · Activity: 2026-07-01 through 2026-07-23.
Source link · September 1, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — campaign-finance report 504120
MJ-504120 · Ordinary · Activity: 2026-07-24 through 2026-08-31.
Source link · September 1, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 504121
MJ-504121 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-01 through 2026-09-01.
Source link · September 1, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 504122
MJ-504122 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-01 through 2026-09-01.
Source link · September 1, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 504123
MJ-504123 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-01 through 2026-09-01.
Source link · September 2, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 504401
MJ-504401 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-02 through 2026-09-02.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506545
MJ-506545 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506548
MJ-506548 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506549
MJ-506549 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506551
MJ-506551 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506553
MJ-506553 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506555
MJ-506555 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506556
MJ-506556 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506558
MJ-506558 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506561
MJ-506561 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506563
MJ-506563 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 15, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 506566
MJ-506566 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-15 through 2026-09-15.
Source link · September 25, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 507108
MJ-507108 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-25 through 2026-09-25.
Source link · September 26, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 507178
MJ-507178 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-26 through 2026-09-26.
Source link · September 27, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 507211
MJ-507211 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-09-27 through 2026-09-27.
Source link · October 8, 2026
Friends of Phillip Jones — contribution/expenditure notice 508293
MJ-508293 · Special notice · Activity: 2026-10-08 through 2026-10-08.
Source link · Date not specified
Virginia Code § 24.2-949.4 — Political action committee treasurer requirements and responsibilities
Statutory context for political action committee records and disclosures. The provision alone does not establish a violation by a person or committee.
Source link · Date not specified
Virginia Code § 24.2-949.5 — Information on political action committee campaign-finance reports
Statutory context for political action committee records and disclosures. The provision alone does not establish a violation by a person or committee.
Source link · Date not specified
Virginia Code § 24.2-949.6 — Political action committee filing schedule
Statutory context for political action committee records and disclosures. The provision alone does not establish a violation by a person or committee.
Source link · Date not specified
Virginia Code § 24.2-949.7 — Large dollar contribution reporting requirement for political action committees
Statutory context for political action committee records and disclosures. The provision alone does not establish a violation by a person or committee.
Timeline
Dates follow the cited records; document dates are labeled separately.
December 10, 2024
Provost contribution disclosed
Good News PAC reported $10,000 from Provost Construction and Sons LLC. This contribution precedes the later city completion-contract listing; the chronology does not establish favoritism.
June 2, 2025
PAC organization statement identifies officers
The statement’s effective-change date is June 2. The names as filed are Phil Jones, treasurer, and Joshua Jones, principal custodian of books and director. Do not expand Phil or PDJ to another identity without confirmation.
June 5, 2025
First $6,000 payment reported
Shannon Jones’s amended campaign report lists Good News at the PAC mailing address for Web/Online Ads/Email, with authorizer initials PDJ. A reported expenditure does not independently establish bank clearance.
June 11, 2025
$100,000 PAC-to-campaign transfer reported
Both committees report the transfer to Friends of Phillip Jones. This transaction is separate from the three expenditures underlying the $12,700 question.
June 16–17, 2025
Two further payments total $6,700
The campaign lists $6,000 for Poll Workers and $700 for Digital, again naming Good News and PDJ. Together with June 5, the reported expenditures total $12,700. The separate $4,490.07 in donated services is not described as a refund.
September 3, 2025
PAC files zero receipts for the covered period
Report 451182 covers May 26 through August 31, including all three payment dates, and shows zero contributions and receipts. The legal recipient, cleared payment status and reporting treatment remain unresolved.
September 23–25, 2025
Dominion contribution precedes a $48,000 transfer
The PAC reported $50,000 from Dominion on September 23 and $48,000 to the mayor’s campaign on September 25. The campaign report mirrors the receipt. Timing does not establish donor designation or a requested city action.
December 18–19, 2025
$275,000 loan and campaign transfer reported
Phillip Jones’s $275,000 loan to the PAC was followed by its $275,000 transfer to his campaign. Loan receipts are kept distinct from new external contributions.
April 1, 2026
Campaign returns funds and PAC repays loan
The campaign reported returning $275,000; the PAC reported the receipt and loan repayment that day. The campaign’s net retained PAC transfers equal $148,000. Loan terms and bank execution remain unverified.
July 13, 2026
City lists a completion-contract start
The project page lists Provost Construction & Sons LLC for a $2,252,509.54 completion contract after an earlier contractor-default hold. It does not identify the full selection or surety process.
August 31, 2026 reporting cutoff
Ordinary reports provide dated balances
The reviewed PAC balance is $27,046.42 and campaign balance $196,930.91. Both report zero outstanding debt. These balances do not establish later bank balances.
September 1–October 8, 2026
Newer contribution notices supplement earlier periods
Nineteen mayor-campaign notices disclose $40,050 after the ordinary-report cutoff. The latest is $2,500 from Lowe’s PAC on October 8. Later notices are not omissions from the already-ended August period.
September 24, 2026
Seventh Dominion contribution reported
The $25,000 standalone notice brings reviewed Dominion support to $175,000, or approximately 72.3% of $241,962 in named external PAC cash. Returns, loans and unitemized funds are excluded from that denominator.
October 10, 2026 webpage observation
Current contract display preserved as an extract
The city page showed $1,016,540.27 paid to date. Compared with the October 5 preserved display of $366,598.55, the difference is $649,941.72. Retrieval dates do not establish when payments occurred.
News story
Good News PAC reporting discrepancy and the money behind Mayor Jones
Open questions
Records still needed (8)
$12,700 unmatched receipts
Identify the legal recipient; provide invoices, clearance/void/return records and the report line or amendment for each June payment. Confirm PDJ’s authorization role.
Likely custodian: Good News PAC treasurer and books custodian
Unresolved cross-committee discrepancy. These questions are prepared; no verified request submission or substantive response is established in this collection.
Submit this recordDominion support and transfers
Explain any restrictions or designations attached to Dominion contributions; provide the authority and records for the $100,000 and $48,000 transfers.
Likely custodian: Good News PAC and mayor campaign
Donations and transfers documented; designation unverified. These questions are prepared; no verified request submission or substantive response is established in this collection.
Submit this record$275,000 loan sequence
Provide the loan agreement, authorization, interest terms and payment instruments supporting the matched December transfer and April return/repayment.
Likely custodian: Good News PAC and mayor campaign
Reconciled in filings; contractual basis not reviewed. These questions are prepared; no verified request submission or substantive response is established in this collection.
Submit this recordVendor services and reimbursements
Identify the legal payee and services delivered by Inklined Holdings LLC, CT Jones and Ava J’s Consulting Firm. Provide invoices, deliverables and reimbursement receipts.
Likely custodian: Good News PAC; named vendors where appropriate
Reported purposes established; ownership and services need verification. These questions are prepared; no verified request submission or substantive response is established in this collection.
Submit this recordProvost city contract
Provide the default/surety completion agreement, contractor-selection rationale, bid or negotiated procurement file, approvals and payment vouchers.
Likely custodian: City procurement and project custodians
Donation and city contract documented; no favoritism finding. These questions are prepared; no verified request submission or substantive response is established in this collection.
Submit this recordEleven September 15 business donors
Confirm legal entities, ownership or affiliation, original funding sources and any shared solicitation event. Preserve separate contributions until identity evidence supports grouping.
Likely custodian: Mayor campaign; contributing businesses
Same-date contributions documented; coordination unverified. These questions are prepared; no verified request submission or substantive response is established in this collection.
Submit this recordHistorical special-notice exceptions
Explain the $5,000 William Murphy notice and $1,400 Foundation Blue Media notice; provide void, correction, replacement or review records.
Likely custodian: Good News PAC and ELECT
Unmatched special notices; excluded from totals. These questions are prepared; no verified request submission or substantive response is established in this collection.
Submit this recordAmendment and agency review history
Provide existing review selection/outcome, deficiency notices and amendment correspondence relevant to these reports. Eligibility is not proof of selection or a finding.
Likely custodian: ELECT and affected committees
Records needed; no agency adjudication established. These questions are prepared; no verified request submission or substantive response is established in this collection.
Submit this record